top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

A memorable trip to the USA


A trip to America! Sounds like an amazing place to visit, right? Well, I visited America in the summer holidays of 2022. My cousin sister and her father accompanied us. On April 9th, 2022 at 3:05 am our plane took off. From Bangalore, we flew to Frankfurt, Germany and since there was only an hour's break to catch the next flight, we ran from one end of the airport to the other end. We were frantically gasping for breath and profusely sweating when we reached the gate to take the flight to Newark, USA.


NEW YORK:

Newark is one of the three airports in New York. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel(Doxie) we were staying in. On the way, we went through the Lincoln Tunnel which was 2 miles long. Then we passed the 7 km long Pulaski Skyway the oldest and longest iron bridge. The next day we went to see the Statue of Liberty and almost lost ¾ of the day in the queue. In the evening, Vidumita Akka, my distant cousin, took us to the Roosevelt Island Tramway. My cousin told us about the 9/11 attack when we crossed the WTC memorial. The next day we visited Intrepid - a warship and we got to see all the parts inside.


PHOENIX:

The day we landed in Phoenix, Arizona; it was my cousin’s birthday. The first thing me and my sister did was explore my aunt’s huge house The house contains 4 rooms for the family members, 1 guest room, 2 offices, 2 large living rooms, and a huge kitchen. The swimming pool was inviting but because of the cold climate, we weren’t allowed to swim. We went to a nearby supermarket in my uncle’s TESLA and bought cupcakes for my cousin’s birthday. The next day, I got to visit Kids World (the daycare that my aunt owns). I made friends on the morning van run (pick up from daycare and drop at school). I made friends by joining their conversation: how many and what languages I have learned. After dropping the kids off, we had ice cream, later had lunch, and then went back again to pick up the kids from school.


While in Phoenix, we went to Tempi Town lake. The view was amazing. We even rented an electric scooter. We played on it only for a few minutes but I learned it quickly. The next day we both got vaccinated. I didn't feel anything neither did Deethya. We were asking the doctor "Did you inject the vaccine? We came back home and had lunch. After that, we went to Uptown jungle with Gowri and Gautham, 2 of our family friends. We had lots of fun. We returned home and our aunt had 4 plates of nachos ready for us. Gowri and Gautham had to leave after the nachos. Then we started getting ready for a trip. The next day, we went on 3 hikes. We walked 2 miles on the Montezuma Castle trail, 4 miles in Verde Valley, and across a long bridge. We checked into our hotel and for the first time, I had mac and cheese. For dinner, we ordered pizza and I was so shocked when I saw the size of the pizza. After that, we slept. The next day after a long drive we reached Phoenix.


That is the end of the first leg of my trip to the USA. In the 2nd leg, I travelled to San Deigo & Los Angeles in California (by road), Seattle in Washington, and St Cloud & Minneapolis in Minnesota. I shall detail them in the next blog.



11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page