top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Bye-Bye Pencil! Hello Pen!!


Hey guys! Well, most of us have begun to use the pen ever since we started grade 5. This also means means this stage is the goodbye to the pencil. I usually loved using the 2HB pencils. They helped me write easily and quickly. Moreover, now I discovered how easy it was to erase and correct mistakes, if any.


This week, when I walked into my grandfather’s room, I found him on his desk writing and he was so involved in it, that he did not see me walk into the room. As I went closer, I could see his neat handwriting and well-spaced words. How I wish I could write like him? And how does he write so well – I guess, it was the pen that he was using.


Before the start of the school, along with my dad we went to a shop to pick up pens. He advised me to choose a roller ball point pen. He also advised me to choose one that had cushion like rubber and that was little fat in the place where we hold it. Finally, after 30 minutes or so, I chose a pen that would help me as easily as I could with a pencil. I was so glad to say bye-bye to sharpeners too.


But my grandfather had a different pen! I asked him what was the kind of pen he was using. He told me that it was a fountain pen. And he said that his pen is the outdated one. I was curious and I wanted to know why the roller ballpoint pen is a modern pen and the fountain pen is outdated. He told me that roller ball point pens were first made to be used in space.


Last year, we learnt that there is no air in space and it is also called Vacuum. And as there is no gravity, the ink in the fountain pen would not flow easily. The astronauts, like us, had to use pencil. But broken pencil tip made of lead and wood in the pencil were always a cause for worry. And that’s how the search for better pen led to roller ball point pens!

Oh well thanks to my grandpa, now I have a topic to blog about.

18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page