top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

If you could travel in space, where do you want to go and why?


Last week our teacher asked, “If you could travel in space, where do you want to go and why?”, set me up thinking! Space is interesting – stars, planets, comets, etc. But the same is scary too – What if I get disconnected? What if I am hit by a celestial body? What if an alien abducts me? The more I debated, the more I was scared about the unknown. But then the lure of the space was good. And then I decided to undertake the space trip and travel to the MOON.


‘Why the moon?’, you may ask. Well, here are my reasons:


1) Familiarity: Men have already stepped on the Moon (no woman yet). As a result, we know more about the moon than any other celestial object. I now know for sure that with the data we have that the moon is far more habitable.


2) Water: We human beings need water to survive. And yes, ISRO’s Chandrayaan-1’ orbiter ‘Moon Impact Probe’ has confirmed the existence of water in the form of water ice in the Shackleton Crater on the moon. With the use of technology, one can easily get potable water on the moon.


3) Magnetic Field: Contrary to popular belief, the moon has a magnetic field of its own. In the absence of a highly protective atmosphere like that we have on Earth, the magnetic field on the moon acts like a shield and prevents harmful solar particles from reaching its surface.


4) Homes: Thanks to the explorations on the moon, NASA and ICON have designed 3D printers that could be carried to the moon and used for constructing homes using the materials available on the moon. I look forward to building my home and residing there.


You may want to know what would I do on the moon. Well, during my spare time, I would have fun by:


1) Hopping: Pogo Sticks? Who needs them on the moon? With gravity at 6 times lesser on the moon, I could just hop away, without the pogo sticks. I could twirl, roll, and/or somersault while walking. The technologists may have to recaliberate my digital watch to see how many calories I burn.


2) Air-Swimming: Why swim in the water only, why not in the air? With no buildings, trees, poles, or traffic to obstruct me, I also look forward to moving horizontally waving my hands and legs. It’s like swimming in the air.


3) Star-gazing: I have always enjoyed noting down my observations of stars, comets, etc. But staying here in Bengaluru – the metro lights and pollution – prevents me from making it a regular habit. Moreover, I am excited to look at the stars and constellations and help my teacher Ms. Nitya to provide her students with a different view and perspective of the stars and constellations.


My first step is to the moon of course. With more insights and experience, I may thereafter be ready to explore other planets.

15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page