top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

My favorite subject - Science! Why?



At Orchids – The International School at Nagarbhavi, I am currently studying Art (including Integrated Arts), Computer Science, Inter-Disciplinary Program, Mathematics, Science and 4 languages – English, Kannada, Hindi and French. Of all these, I believe, Science captures the most of my attention.



The following are the reasons behind my choice:

*** understand the how’s – for example, how a shadow is formed? Using our science kit, last week from our homes, we used opaque, translucent and transparent sheets to find how the shadow of an animal (paper of course) is different each time. It was exciting to use the items in the kit like a torch, paper animals, cardboard with holes to allow light, etc. So, when I first stuck the transparent sheet and switched on the torchlight, I got a clear shadow of a duck. Then when I stuck the translucent sheet, I got an image instead of a clear shadow of the duck. And lastly. I had got no shadow when I stuck the opaque sheet!


*** understand the what’s – for example, what makes things stay / move? Towards the end of last year, I understood how force impacts on things and living beings. In one experiment, we used magnets to understand how magnetic force can be used to overcome gravitational force and move them from one place to another or pull them up.


*** understand the why’s – for example why should we filter water? In this project, last month we used the items from the science kit – containers, charcoal powder, cotton, sand, soil, and bottle cap with tiny holes to create a small water-filtration set-up. Then I poured muddy water from the top and after few minutes, I got crystal clear water!



I am glad that my teacher took interest in helping all the students use the science kit to make us understand various aspects of science quite clearly. Understanding the what’s, why’s, how’s etc of things around us makes life interesting.

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page