top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

STEP - a right step towards transformation



Cleanliness! No, not with reference to COVID-19. I’m referring to the cleanliness of the air, water, and all other resources around us. The contamination of air, water, and sound usually called as pollution, is what has become a worry point for most of us. And yes, the world environment day celebrated on June 5th this year is to help us understand how we can stop pollution and become healthy.


At Orchids, The International School, Nagarbhavi. Our learning is fun, because it is mostly activity-based-learning. This year as the World Environmental Day was on a Saturday, our school had planned to kick-off the activities through a program called STEP (Student Transformation and Evolution Program). I was eager to participate in the same.


The first activity was a ‘Writing Competition’ and the best thing was that we had to write on-the-spot. At 10:00am our teacher came online and showed us a picture. I carefully watched it and identifying the smoke from vehicles and few factories, I realized it was about urban pollution. I wrote around 10 points regarding the same and submitted.


Then we had a quiz competition at 11.00am. It was all about environment from what we had learned. There were around 15 questions which was not directly from the books. So, I had to really think hard and find the right answers. I was tensed because I wanted to get all the answers correct, but the tricky questions were taking more time. Finally, I managed to submit my paper within the given time.


Finally, at 12 noon, we had a poster making competition. We were expected to draw, color and submit a poster that would probably describe the current situation. As I was thinking about the theme, I heard the vendor scream ice-cream. The image of a cone ice cream loaded with a round scoop struck my mind. Suddenly I could see the global warming melting the mother earth and she screaming for help! After 30 minutes, I submitted my drawing.


Yay! In 3 hours, I learnt more about how we are impacting the environment and how I could do my bit towards preventing the abuse to mother earth.

31 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page