top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Students for soil!

May 29, 2022


The Honorable Prime Minister of India

PMO

Delhi


Ref: ‘Save the Soil’ Movement


My recent trip to my native place – Mayiladuthurai (on the banks of River Cauvery and few kilometers before the river meets the Bay of Bengal) was an eye-opener as I could interact with many of my relatives who have been farmers and agriculturists for generations.


When I saw them using fertilizers, I was alarmed! They explained to me how the use of fertilizers helped in boosting the yield of the crops and thus grow more crops within the limited agricultural resources – land, water, power and et all.


But my mind was fixed about the long-term impact of the fertilizers on mother earth. When I read more, I understood that over the decades due to excessive use of fertilizers, the soil had not only lost its natural nutrients but also un-processed fertilizers percolates deep down affecting the water and other resources.


I am worried that soon ‘natural soil’ will be extinct and the future generations will have to consume food laced with chemicals as those food would be cultivated using artificial techniques. Scientific research already has highlighted the ill-effects of such food on our mental and physical health.

I have thought of a few easy ways that could help increase soil nutrients:

a) Using Green Manures – encourage cultivation of plants that help fertilize the farmland on which they grow along with other crops as these plants improve the soil structure and prevent the growth of weeds.

b) Promoting Soil Microorganisms – just like earthworms, there are several good microorganisms in the soil that keep it healthy. The number of microorganisms can easily be improved by planting the right crops and trees, thus reducing the dependency on fertilizers.

c) Maintaining PH levels in the soil – as use of chemicals lead to loss of soil fertility, we must periodically use a pH indicator to check the levels of acids in the soil. Accordingly, we must treat the soil with eco-friendly chemicals and ensure that the soil remains healthy at all times.

d) Preventing Salinity – near the coastal areas, when water evaporates it leaves behind salt. This salt affects the quality of the soil. Growing crops like saltbush can revive the soils and replace lost nutrients.


As soil conservation is very important for the generations to come, I request you to introduce new laws that would reward those who works positively towards soil conversation and severely punish those who deplete the quality of the soil. Our generation might be the cause behind the deterioration of soil’s health but I don’t want the next generation to suffer the effect. I believe, its still not too late and that if we act now with purpose and speed, we would be able to restore the health and nutrients of the soil.

May 29, 2022


The Honorable Prime Minister of India

PMO

Delhi


Ref: ‘Save the Soil’ Movement


My recent trip to my native place – Mayiladuthurai (on the banks of River Cauvery and few kilometers before the river meets the Bay of Bengal) was an eye-opener as I could interact with many of my relatives who have been farmers and agriculturists for generations.


When I saw them using fertilizers, I was alarmed! They explained to me how the use of fertilizers helped in boosting the yield of the crops and thus grow more crops within the limited agricultural resources – land, water, power and et all.


But my mind was fixed about the long-term impact of the fertilizers on mother earth. When I read more, I understood that over the decades due to excessive use of fertilizers, the soil had not only lost its natural nutrients but also un-processed fertilizers percolates deep down affecting the water and other resources.


I am worried that soon ‘natural soil’ will be extinct and the future generations will have to consume food laced with chemicals as those food would be cultivated using artificial techniques. Scientific research already has highlighted the ill-effects of such food on our mental and physical health.

I have thought of a few easy ways that could help increase soil nutrients:

a) Using Green Manures – encourage cultivation of plants that help fertilize the farmland on which they grow along with other crops as these plants improve the soil structure and prevent the growth of weeds.

b) Promoting Soil Microorganisms – just like earthworms, there are several good microorganisms in the soil that keep it healthy. The number of microorganisms can easily be improved by planting the right crops and trees, thus reducing the dependency on fertilizers.

c) Maintaining PH levels in the soil – as use of chemicals lead to loss of soil fertility, we must periodically use a pH indicator to check the levels of acids in the soil. Accordingly, we must treat the soil with eco-friendly chemicals and ensure that the soil remains healthy at all times.

d) Preventing Salinity – near the coastal areas, when water evaporates it leaves behind salt. This salt affects the quality of the soil. Growing crops like saltbush can revive the soils and replace lost nutrients.


As soil conservation is very important for the generations to come, I request you to introduce new laws that would reward those who works positively towards soil conversation and severely punish those who deplete the quality of the soil. Our generation might be the cause behind the deterioration of soil’s health but I don’t want the next generation to suffer the effect. I believe, its still not too late and that if we act now with purpose and speed, we would be able to restore the health and nutrients of the soil.

Thank you for your time!

Regards

Dhamathi Suresh, Grade – 6,

Orchids – The International School

Nagarbahvi, Bengaluru - 560072


Certificate 👇



15 views1 comment
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page