top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Time to swing around trees?



After an underwater adventure and up-in-the-sky adventure, I was wondering what next? And my dad always with a bag of surprises took me to a TREETOP ADVENTURE wherein I had to cover 500+ meters in an hill top full of trees.


The location was Grange Resorts in Yercaud, near Salem in Tamil Nadu. Initially I was scared for there were 9 obstacles to clear that were almost 20 feet high from the ground. There were no cushions on the ground to guard us. I was sort of relived, when I was provided with lifeline ropes that would let me not fall but the fact that I would be dangling in the air still scared me!


With few nudges from my dad and others in the trip as well as the resort guides, I decided to proceed. Was my heart beating loud – yes, it indeed was! Was I nervous – yes, luckily people thought it was the cold making me shiver! Was I scared – no, I was not the one to back out!


The nine obstacles were:

1) Ship Mast Climb: It a vertical net that we have to climb to go to the next obstacle. It was a piece of cake for me. ‘


2) Earthquake: Then we had to walk on a bridge that had planks of dangling woods with some distance between the planks. As It was dangling, the planks would swing wildly making it quite scary. It did scare me as there was a 90% chance of me falling in those gaps.

3) Suspension Bridge: Walking on this bridge which was not having a lot of gaps and was not swinging as wildly as the previous obstacle made this the 2nd most easy thing to do.


4) Plank to plank: This obstacle was like the earthquake but since they were long, they were less swinging. I held onto the lifeline rope and took wide steps.


5) Spacewalk: Don’t worry, I was on Earth only. Not in space. So, what happened is we had to walk on a rope which had planks sloping inwards. Might sound easy but the thing is you will have to keep your leg in the center and walk, else one would slip and dangling in the air.


6) Net Bucket: The easiest of the one to walk while high in the sky. It almost looks like a V shaped net and therefore is very assuring. Though the walk is not easy but seeing the net around makes walk through it seem easy.


7) Burma Bridge: After the next bucket, Burma Bridge which also looks like a V bridge at first sounded easy. But there was not net. It was only ropes tied in V shape. But the fact that I had to walk on a rope and not on planks made me initially nervous. The guide there gave me tips and I thereafter crossed it.




8) Net Traverse: This was the most scary and risky. There was a rope on which I had to walk taking support of the vertical net. Both my legs and hands began to pain half the distance. My dad and the rest of the tourists encouraged me and finally with lots of sweat, I crossed over this obstacle too.


9) BONUS - Zipline: The reward for successfully crossing all the obstacle was the zip-line. Almost 700+ meters flying from one tree-top to another tree-too was good. Ho! Ho!






Friends! If you want to explore and have fun, please visit http://grangeadventures.com/high-rope-course.html Do share with me your experiences.




268 views2 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page