top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Utility of light


Hi everyone!


We all are able to see the source of light. But what are the uses of light except for helping us to see and removing darkness. Let’s explore – I’m using the theater form of dialogue, wherein the dialogue between me and my younger cousin 😊


Me: Your clues are – Sun and clothes!

Cousin: Easy, sun light is used for drying clothes.

Me: True. In the rural areas people use sunlight to dry clay-pots, grass to hay, sun-dried raisins, tea-leaves, etc. The next clue is Sun and electricity

Cousin: Are you referring to solar powered current generators that produce power to move machines.

Me: Yeah, like water motors; electric mills, and even wheel chairs. Ready for the next one – Your clues are transport and Sun

Cousin: Remember the other day we saw the TV show “Grace’s Amazing Machines” where we saw solar powered bikes, cars, trains and yachts

Me: Oh yeah! Then the same clues – transport and sunlight but different usage.

Cousin: It is getting complicated – other than solar powered vehicles? Give me a clue please

Me: The colors change

Cousin: Is it traffic lights? They are also solar powered now-a-days.

Me: Your next clue – hmmnnn, sun and household things

Cousin: That should be easy – torch light, watches, calculators etc

Me: Okay, let me ask you about living beings - Light and food. Can you guess it?

Cousin: Hmmnnn. That’s easy, plants use light to make their food!

Me: Exactly. Plants the sunlight to form food and the process is photosynthesis. The next one is light and health

Cousin: I guess, time for me to give up

Me: Yeah, that was pretty easy I guess – Vitamin D. Sun helps our body get natural vitamin-D. That’s why its important for us to play for an hour in the morning/evening sun. But the Corona virus doesn’t seem to know this!

Cousin: Can’t we use light to kill Corona?

Me: Thanks. That can be a topic for one of my forthcoming blogs


Alright I have got to go. My science teacher is going to take another science class! Bye!

43 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page