top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Why is the Ozone crying?



Hi friends,

Yesterday night, I got the chance to vroom up into the space in my dream. As I was inching out of the earth’s gravity and nearing the out space, I could hear some loud voice. By the tome I could understand clearly that someone was in pain and crying loudly. I started to focus and heard the following:

Ozone (crying loudly): I dread the summer. The summer nearly kills me. How I wish it could be winter all-round the year.

Sun: Hey, I am just doing what I am supposed to be doing. Don’t hate me for that.

Ozone: No, its not you. It’s the human beings below on earth that I am talking about. I do good to them by shielding them from the harmful UV rays you emit.

Sun: Why blame those puny little less than 6 feet tall people who are about 2.5 billion centimeters away?

Ozone: I wish, I didn’t blame, but they are the ones who make me shrink every year and I now have a huge hole inside me.

Sun: You must be kidding!

Ozone: As the summer arrives, humans tend to use more Refrigerators and ACs. These man-made devices release chemicals like chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and bromofluorocarbons (BFCs). Some of their activities also release nitro-oxide.

Sun: So, how do these affect you?

Ozone: These chemicals travel all the way up here and when they meet UV rays, they create certain chemical reactions that kills parts of me.

Sun: I’m sorry. I was not aware of this. I can’t control the UV rays that come out of me. But the humans can control the use of the refrigerators and ACs.

Ozone: You got my point. I protect them; but are they protecting me?

Sun: Hope, human beings take note.


Thanks to my dream, now I know why I should keep the windows open during the summer nights and avoid switching on the AC in the car when I go out on the early morning road-trips.


Friends, trust you liked the information and hope you will do your bit to protect the Ozone.

40 views2 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page