top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Wizkids' Recite It 2nd Place Winner

Updated: Mar 10, 2023





I still remember the day in 4th grade, the day we learned the poem. I am attracted to the poem like an insect attracted to light. I love the way the literary devices are used in this poem. Well, here is the poem Silver by Walter De La Mere:


Slowly, silently, now the moon

Walks the night in her silver shoon;

This way, and that, she peers and sees

Silver fruit upon silver trees;

One by one the casements catch

Her beams beneath the silvery thatch;

Couched in his kennel, like a log,

With paws of silver sleeps the dog;

From their shadowy cote, the white breasts peep

Of doves in a silver-feathered sleep;

A harvest mouse goes scampering by,

With silver claws and a silver eye;

And moveless fish in the water gleam,

By silver reeds in a silver stream.


I saw an opportunity to narrate a poem on Wizkids’ Recite It. I decided to narrate this poem. Here is the video for reference:



After a few weeks, they declared the result and I got 2ND PRIZE. I was jumping up and down. My parents showed me the certificate just as I entered home after coming back from school. Here it is:


It was an amazing experience. My thanks to Wizkids. I forever shall remember the poem Silver by heart. Well, till the next time, we meet again or you read my blog, this is Dhamathi Suresh signing off.


17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page