top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

AMD Trip

Updated: Mar 24, 2023


On 18th March 2023 at early morning 1:00 am, with sleepiness in my eyes I woke up to

find weird sounds around. No, it wasn’t a ghost or a demon (devil’s hour). It was just my parents walking here and there getting last-minute items for our Gujarat Trip!!! Welcome to my blog about my Gujarat Trip. There will be a sequel as I will be visiting Ahmedabad, Mundra, Dwarka, etc.

Part 1: Ahmedabad

We got to the airport 3 hours before our flight. We got our identities checked, submitted our suitcases then we had food at a shop there as we left our house with an empty stomach. Then we went to our gate at 4:30 as our boarding started at 5:10. We had to take the escalator but before that, we went through security. We had to take a separate bus to the airplane. My stomach did feel funny during the take-off and landing of the plane but that was normal since the same happened when I had gone to the USA.


We headed to the baggage claim and had to go through security again. We were welcomed outside by my aunt & my uncle. They took us to a sweet shop where I had a Jalebi which tasted so sweet and was very juicy. I also had Sweet Dhokla which is also known as Kaman. Our next stop was the hotel we would stay in. After getting refreshed in just half an hour we were off to our next stop – Sardar Valla Bhai Patel’s Statue.

The statue looked pretty tiny in between the mountains from a distance but when we got closer it was humongous. We got on an AC seater bus which traveled for nearly 10 minutes. We first decided to enter the View Gallery where I got to know that this statue was the largest statue in the world, it was taller than the Statue of Liberty being 195 meters.


We then got a chance to go to the heart of the statue. Not the human heart but the Centre of the statue. We then went near the feet. The foot itself was huge. I couldn’t even reach his toes when I was standing on my toes. This was where I took the picture where I acted as if I was carrying the statue. We came home pretty late and immediately went to bed.





The next day, we first visited Dandi Kutir. It was a structure of 3 floors, it depicted the whole life story of Mahatma Gandhi. There were even theatres. I got to know a lot about Gandhi ji and his thinking processes. We next visited a stepwell which is known as Rudabai stepwell. We had to go down 6 floors to see the well. This well was used for bathing by royal women. It was built in 1498 AD.


We next visited Sabarmati Ashram where I saw so many peacocks. I was fascinated by Gandhi’s Charka. Our next stop was Laal Darswaza Market where I bought a sling bag and an awesome jacket for myself. The vendors yelling to attract customers reminded me of the time our English teacher taught us the poem “In the Bazaars of Hyderabad” by Sarojini Naidu. We then headed back to our hotel and packed our things for our visit to MUNDRA!!!


Stay tuned for Part 2 where I will be describing my visit to Mundra.

51 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page