top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Exciting and Dripping trip to SeaWorld



Famous places are visited because of a reason and one place like that is SeaWorld, California. SeaWorld isn’t famous for only the rides but also for the many unique and endangered animals that are preserved there. My trip to SeaWorld was very special to me. I enjoyed my time there, especially with the penguins. I love spending time with animals and this is how SeaWorld helped me do it. Scroll down to continue reading. We reached at 9:50 in the morning, 10 mins early. There were many people already waiting for the gates to open. At exactly 10:00 the counters opened. I was so excited when it was our turn. We decided to go on the rides and then see the animals.

We first went on the ride, ‘Journey to Atlantis’. The board there read, ‘Get ready to explore the dark, watery passageways through the sunken city’ and as we were experiencing them all, we were flung from its gates down a thrilling plunge into the waters below. We then had to go on Octa rock which moved like a swing. My cousin wanted to go so I decided to go along. Then we went on the world’s smallest free fall – the Sea dragon drop. I decided to be a big sister to my cousin and went with her. Then came the best ride ever – Emperor. It drops you from 14 stories tall mark. This ride soaked us – Shipwreck rapids. In this ride, you have to sit on a structure that contains 6 seats and buckle up. It moves along a fast-flowing river which makes the boat-like structure move crazily.

Then we decided to see the animals. The octopus house was the closest to the rides so we went there first. When we entered there was a sign which said “Come in and meet OTTO the octopus”. When I saw the tank, there was nothing inside. My cousin and I kept our hands next to our eyes and kept our hands on the tank and boom there was an explosion of black ink which made our hearts stop. There he was- Otto the Octopus. We came out and decided to look around. I enjoyed the pedicure from the Garra rufa, sometimes called doctor fish, as they ate the dead skin off my hand. Then we touched the Sting rays. I know it might sound crazy but at Aquatica's KeRe Reef, one individual can pet the back of a sting ray. We went to see some bigger in size animals.

Our next stop was at a house where I saw 3 different animals. Walruses, Belugas and Sea otters. As soon as we entered, I first saw the walrus. Then we saw the staff award the otters for every trick they did. And in the next tanks were the belugas. I remembered a 3-year-old friend who lives on the same street as me. He used to sing a song called “Baby Beluga” all the time. When we left, we saw a board that said “Orca Encounter”. And I love killer whales, no one can eat a Killer Whale (Orca) but I didn’t wanna see one for free. I said I wouldn’t go but my dad it would be a nice experience. There were 8 rows, and seats were free only in the 2nd row. So, we took our seats there. The first five minutes were cool. The two were doing amazing tricks. But then an orca came and soaked us with a huge splash of water. I got up and stood on the stairs to get dry. After some time, since the orcas weren’t splashing us, I decided to sit down. It was a bad idea. Just as I sat down, an orca came and splashed us again. I didn’t wait for my uncle and my cousin. I just left.

My dad said he would get us food, so he didn’t come to the orca encounter. I went to the shop raging mad at scolded my dad for sending me in. He was laughing. We decided to have food as we got dry. Then we saw tons and tons of penguins. Then there was a ride called manta. The line was huge but the wait was worth it. Because we had to wait for a long time by the time we came out we had to leave. The day might have ended quickly but I shall remember it for a long time to come.

21 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page