top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

If I had magical powers…!




If I had magical powers, I would be on the highways and doing my best to prevent accidents.


Ever since I was 7 years, I have got to be my dad’s co-pilot in the car. Apart from calling out the road signs, reading the maps and sign boards, and watching out for stray animals or jay-walkers, I play an important role in keeping him focused on the road.


Over these 5 years, I have witnessed many road accidents, some light and some fatal. When I asked my father and other drivers about the causes of accidents, I figured out that many accidents happen due to:

a) Rash driving which leads to loss of control

b) Driving in the wrong lanes especially in highways

c) Drunken driving and

d) Drowsiness, especially during dawn.


I will use my magical powers to sneak / squeeze through closed doors and also talk sweetly to the biker or driver (of car / bus/ truck) riding rashly / wrongly and convince the biker or driver to slow down and do the correct thing.


I will also use my power to know the driver’s most loved person and mimic in that beloved person’s voice and say, “I love you and you love me. Therefore, please drive carefully, ” “Drive safe, I am waiting to hug you” etc. I will stay in that vehicle next to the driver and keep talking until the driver slows down and drives carefully.


If I see the driver is drunk, then I will use my magical powers to take control of the vehicle and guide it to a nearby toll and ensure that the toll plaza officers take necessary action to prevent the driver from driving until the driver if free from the effects of alcohol/drugs.


Lastly, I will share my magical powers with people who also would like to be like me and play guardians in the highways, such that there are no more roadside accidents due to human error.

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page