top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Talent has no age bar.

Updated: Sep 7, 2022



“Talent has no age bar.” Well, this is a quote that I agree and also disagree with!


I agree that “Talent has no age bar” because once can always learn at any age. We have heard about very young kids and also very elderly persons learn something new and go on to create a record in the same. A glance into Guinness Book of Records and Limca Book of Records would support the same.


However, I also disagree because we have heard the proverb, ‘one can’t teach an old dog new tricks.’ Let me elaborate on the same:


a) As a person grows old, the person’s memory and the ability to learn declines. They can learn something new but it would take a lot of effort and time to learn. My grandad got to used to the normal smart phone that he has been using for over 3 years. Last month, he saw the theme on my phone and wanted one on his. He liked it but it took him more than a month to adapt to the new theme and can make use of its featured properly.


b) Scientifically, through research, it is proven that the ideal time that a person can learn is up till the age of 15. It’s been observed and recorded that kids can easily learn 4 – 5 foreign languages quite easily or even learn a new skill / art / talent etc. This why at Orchids – The International School in Nagarbhavi children up to grade 5 are encouraged to learn English + 3 more languages and also participate in competitions like STEP and improve their talents/skills.


This why I agree and disagree. If you have a point that I could add in any one of the statements, please let me know in the comments. Bye for now😁.

25 views1 comment
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page