top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

I Placed In QCEC Again! Woohoo!





I had just came back home from school after a tiring day full of sports activities. I had no energy but the 9 words that my mother said made me jump up and down. They were : "You won bronze in Queen's Commonwealth Essay Competition 2023 ". Let me tell you how I got to know about this competition.


In June 2022, we heard about the Queen’s Commonwealth Essay Competition through our school's Principal Mrs. Latha Karri. I had won in the Queen's commonwealth conducted last year.



I decided to give it a shot this year. I scrolled down to the Junior category. There 4 topics mentioned but the one that caught my interest was "In fiction and throughout history, young people have performed numerous acts of heroism. Choose your favourite young hero and write to them about why you admire them. (750 Words)". Here's a few clues related to the superhero I wrote about:


1) Has titian hair

2) Has keen blue eyes

3) A slender girl who uses her bravery, logical reasoning clues, and pleasant communication skills to unmask the wrong-doers.


Well if you guessed Nancy Drew... You got it right!



I started reading the Nancy Drew Mystery Series at the tender age of 8. My parents were happy that I started taking a book with me to bed rather than a soft toy but were also disappointed that I was staying up beyond my lights-off time. Her character and achievements suited the "young people have performed numerous acts of heroism" part and I do admire her. Why not write the essay about her?




I am so grateful for this opportunity. I would like to thank my parents who are always there by my side. I am grateful to all my English teachers who have helped me make a huge advancement in the language. My class teacher Anitha ma'am who makes sure my achievement is known and all my friends who are there to congratulate me and make me feel proud. Most importantly a HUGE thanks to those who have blessed me along with the congratulations.

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page