top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

The sport I like – Alaguli Manae



Known as Alaguli Manae in Kannada, Pichaalla Peeta in Telugu, Pallanguzhi in Tamil, the game of 14 pits, which is predominantly an indoor game is what I like the most.


This is 2-player game, played on a rectangular board, has 14 cups split into 7 cups in each row. When the game starts each player puts the 35 seeds/shells/buttons etc into the cups equally, thus each cup would contain 5 seeds/shells/buttons etc. The 1st player picks up the seeds from any of the cup on his/her side, putting one seed in each cup while moving clockwise.


Once the seeds are over, the 1st player then takes the seeds from the next cup and continues putting the seeds in the cups that are after the cup in which the last seed was put. If the 1st player finds an empty cup immediately after the last seed on hand has been dropped, the player collects the seeds in the cup following the empty cup; the player then picks up the seeds from the next cup containing seeds. If the last seed falls into a cup with two empty holes, the players turn is over. The second player then continues in the same way. The winner is the one who has the greatest number of seeds.


While putting the seeds, when the cup of either player has 3 or 4 seeds they get to remove and keep them. Both the players have to be careful while putting the seeds in the cup because even by mistake if the player puts an extra seed in the cup, that seed would go to the other player. Carefully holding the seeds and putting them into the correct cup is the trickiest part in the game.


I like this game because it helps me observe keenly, remember how many seeds are left in the cup and most importantly pick up the right cup so that I can ensure the maximum number of seeds remain on my side. This game is known to stimulate the kids learning ability, counting ability and thinking ability. Well, Alagulli Manae could be your favorite game too if you want to advance your math-ability!


I enjoyed playing this game with my 93 years old great grandmother (she passed away just last month). Though I used to lose the most to her, she would be my most favorite player of the game, as I could learn various tricks and tips by silently observing her play. This game helped me stay indoors even during the corona pandemic. After learning how to play this game from my paternal great – grandmother, I had a chance to teach my neighbors to play this game.


You want to learn how to play Alagulli Manae? Just leave a message. Post-pandemic, I shall figure a way to play the game with you.


13 views2 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page