top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDhamathi Suresh

Why I love the poem Daffodils (by William Wordsworth)?


I like the poem Daffodils (by William Wordsworth) not only for the way the Daffodils are described but also because of the way various literacy devices (tools that make a poem fascinating and comprehensible). The fact that it was the first non-curricular poem that I read, along with my mentor, made me fall in love with it the first time I read.


William Wordsworth makes a good use of few important literary devices like the rhyming scheme, the hyperboles, the similes and the personification to weave the readers attention. The result is IMAGERY that a reader can easily frame as one progresses from one line to another. And, every time I read the poem, I can’t but fall in love with it all over.


These two lines from the first stanza clearly highlights how use of similes and personification helps in creating vivid imagery:

“Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze…”


In the second stanza, the poet’s rhyming schemes of ABABCC and use of hyperboles keeps the reader glued to the poem:

“Continuous as the stars that shine

And twinkle on the milky way,

They stretched in never-ending line

Along the margin of a bay:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance

Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.”


Further some of these lines goes on to leaving unforgettable images in the minds of the reader:

“The waves beside them danced, but they

Out-did the sparkling waves in glee…”


“And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.”


The poem Daffodils has inspired me to write poems and use literary devices to make my poems vivid and meaningful. And the happiness that I get from the poem whenever I read it, will keep me reading the poem again and again

478 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page